Candidates’ filing deadline is Friday, June 22 for the Primary

This is a corrected version of the story we posted earlier, we regret any confusion our first story may have caused.

Anyone who wants to run for a county or special district elective office in Hendry County has until noon Friday, June 22 to complete the paperwork and submit their filing fee to the Hendry County Supervisor of Elections office for the Primary Election.

The seats of Thomas A. Smith and Hilda L. Zimmerly are up for re-election with the LaBelle City Commision Commissioner Smith has no opposition and will retain his seat. Cindy Pearce is running against Commissioner Zimmerly. Early voting starts July 7 and ends 14. The City of LaBelle election day is July 17.

The main local seats up for election in Hendry are the county property appraiser’s office, which is currently vacant; three on the school board, those representing Districts 3, 4 and 5; those of the county commissioners representing Districts 2 and 4.

Candidates who have filed so far are: Dena Pittman, a Republican, for property appraiser; school board incumbents Amanda Nelson in District 3, Stephanie Schneider Busin in District 4, and Jon Basquin in District 5; school board challengers Mercedes Perdomo Reese in District 4 and Maureen Cervino Quintero in District 5; incumbent Republicans Darrell Harris in Hendry County Commission District 2 and Michael Swindle in District 4 along with challenger Kenneth C. Diaz in District 2; and incumbent Clewiston City Commissioner Phillip Roland.

Other local offices up for election are:
• Hendry Hospital Board, District 2, for which Steven A. Nisbet Sr. has filed; and the District 4 seat currently held by Miller Couse; and

• Hendry Soil and Water Conservation District Seat 1 (occupied by Marilyn Sears); Seat 2 (held by James Mabry McCray); Seat 3 (held by Ralph Bruce Hendry); and Seat 5 (occupied by Lisa Cleghorn), in nonpartisan elections.

The primary election occurs Aug. 28, for which the voter registration deadline is July 30; and the general election is Nov. 6, with the voter registration deadline on Oct. 8.

As of June 11, 17,510 people were registered to vote in Hendry County: 7,885 Democrats, 6,245 Republicans and 3,380 of other parties or no party affiliation.

The Caloosa Belle is published every Thursday.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment